thepigeoncoop

Musings about life in the Pigeon household

Creak, Creak, Groan, Sigh…

1 Comment

Nope, this isn’t a dirty, X-rated post.

I could have titled it “Snap, Crackle, Pop”, actually…

I’m talking about age. My body and how it is rebelling against getting older.

I had friends over on Sunday for the Oscars (don’t roll your eyes – it was fun!). One of my pals pointed out that everytime one of us goddesses got off the couch, we were moaning, groaning, limping, stretching and there was a lot of ‘Oh, god, geez, ow’ being said…

Now these two gals who were over here – I’ve known them for 20+ years. So everytime we get together, we really regress back to the early twenties. We’re loud, boisterous and according to us, frigging hilarious. And that’s how we feel – mentally.

Physically is another story. I’m sorry to see my friends going through the trials of older age… but I’m glad to see I’m not the only one suffering through aches and pains.

My knees ache. I have heel spurs, my shoulder & neck sometimes get so sore I can feel it in my jaw and eyes and down to my fingers…

And I’m only thirty-frigging-eight years old! What will it be like in 20 years?

Yikes…

Oh man, my oldest just got out of bed (he couldn’t sleep – I think he was there for all of about five minutes) and now I’ve lost my train of thought…

So now my memory is going. Oh fantastic.

Actually – I forgot. That’s not new.

According to these friends of mine who were over on Sunday, my memory has been sadly on the decline for years now.

Again, what will it be like in 20 years? Will I be sitting on the couch, drooling, watching Grey’s Anatomy?

Different kind of drooling for me in the future… will I even recognize McDreamy anymore?

Sad…

So my aching body is one reason why I’m trying to eat healthier. And why I’m planning to try swimming laps. I did it once last week. I plan to go back. Soon…. ish…

Its just so cold out in the mornings. They have swim times at 5:30 am. I figure that’s the time to go! By the time I get home, everyone is just getting up (or still sleeping, dare to dream)…

If I don’t try to get a work out in first thing in the morning, I’ll talk myself out of it and put it off for another day. Ah hah! There’s a tie-in to a previous post about procrastination… hmmmm… gawd, I’m good…

I digress. Again. Must be an age thing. We do that when we get older, don’t we? We ramble. Go off on tangents…

So the point I was originally trying to make is about age and health and trying to live my best life asap… actually, that sounds like an Oprah-ism.

I was going to try and talk about my plan for a healthier life and how I plan to achieve that… so the pain can lessen… and I can be more active and less tired, have more energy… I think that’s where I was going with this…

Oh heck, I can’t remember what my point was. I’ll try again tomorrow.

That’s a procrastination thing AND an age thing.

And a wine thing – my glass is WAY over across the room waiting for me. And with the shape I’m in right about now, it’ll take a good five minutes of shuffling and whispering curse words under my breath to get to it…

One thought on “Creak, Creak, Groan, Sigh…

  1. LOL!! You need Greg!! 1 or 2 work outs a week with him is like 3-5 work outs a week!! Let me know if you want to check it out…. might be a good solution to the whole procrastination and age thing! 🙂

    S

Leave a Reply

