thepigeoncoop

Musings about life in the Pigeon household

Pay Attention

5 Comments

March is National Colorectal Cancer Awareness Month.

I believe my mom would still be with us if she had been checked for colon cancer.

That means if she had undergone a simple colonoscopy when she was in her fifties, cancer would have been detected WAY before it got to the stage it did.

By the time she had the cancer removed from her colon, it had spread to her liver. We were hopeful, but it was more of a game of catch-up at that point rather than actually curing anything.

She was such a proud parent & grandmother. And she fought hard for herself and her family. This April we will be remembering five years without my kids’ grandma and without my best friend.

Please get yourself checked.

Make sure anyone in your family over the age of 50 is checked. Determine if this is genetic. If it is in your family, take responsibility. 

It is a simple procedure (had it done – painless!). Do it!

Hopefully a life will be saved. Thanks for your time.

5 thoughts on “Pay Attention

  1. Good advice Tracy!! Your mom was a beautiful person inside and out!!

  2. Did it of course! In fact it was so nice i’ll do it twice! Just waiting for the call. really enjoying the blog, you go sista!

  3. Well said.

    S

  4. I totally agree and also get the lovely procedure on a regular basis. I don’t know if you remember, Tracey but my sister was going through the same thing at the same time as Linda – Linda actually called my sister in Toronto to give her support. Hopefully they are still supporting each other.

    • Hi, Lynda – so great to hear from you.
      I do remember my mom telling me about your sister. I’m sorry to hear about her and the loss to your family.
      I’m sure they’re somewhere hoisting a ‘drinky-poo’ together.
      Take care of yourself & give a hug to Garry for me!

Leave a Reply

