thepigeoncoop

Musings about life in the Pigeon household

Aunt Jean’s Meatloaf

Leave a comment

My Aunt Jean gave my mom this recipe and she passed it on to me. Best meatloaf ever! Comfort food at its best.

  • 1 1/2 lbs ground beef
  • 2 eggs
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 3 slices fresh bread, crumbled
  • 1 onion; chopped (my kids aren’t big on the big white ‘things’ in the meatloaf, so I cut this down to 1/2 onion and add some onion powder to the mix.
  • 1/2 cup carrots, shredded
  • 1 cup cheddar cheese, shredded
  1. Beat eggs in bowl with fork. Add milk, salt, pepper and bread. Beat this until bread disintegrates
  2. Add onion, carrot, cheese and beef. Mix well. Pack into loaf pan.
  3. Bake at 350 degrees F for about 1 1/2 hours. Let stand 10 minutes before serving.
  4. Can be made and frozen or baked and then frozen.

My Aunt Jean mixes up a sauce with a bit of mustard (about 1 T), some ketchup (1 T) and brown sugar (I think it’s around 1-2 tsp).

Mix and pour over meatloaf with about 10 minutes left in the baking time.

This gives the meatloaf a nice taste. My kids don’t care for the sauce, however.

They just add ketchup and I try not to watch…

Leave a Reply

