thepigeoncoop

Musings about life in the Pigeon household

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a comment

This is pretty much the extent of my baking. I don’t have to roll anything, punch anything, fiddle with anything, etc., etc.

I just throw everything into a bowl, mix, plop it onto a baking sheet and voila! I’m a SUPERSTAR! And just a note – the more chocolate chips (especially the mini-coloured chips in the bulk aisle), the better! But I’m sure you already knew that…

  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup butter or margarine
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 Tbsp milk
  • 1 cup chopped pecans or walnuts (I usually don’t include these as the cookies are packed in the boys’ lunches and their school is peanut free. Hence the ‘more chocolate chips’ comment above).
  • 3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips.
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Stir together flour and baking soda. Set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together butter, vanilla and sugars. Beat until fluffy. Beat in egg, then cocoa, then milk.
  3. Mix in flour until just blended. Stir in nuts and chocolate chips.
  4. Drop by spoonfuls and greased cookie sheets and bake for 12 minutes.
  5. Cool slightly before removing from cookie sheet.

Makes about 3 dozen cookies.

NOTE: I usually make my cookies a little smaller for the kids. I bake them for about 9 minutes – I like my cookies chewy!

Excerpted from The Best of the Best (Recipes from the Best of Bridge Series)

Leave a Reply

